We Were Angels

Standard

You call me at 2am
With blood flowing
From your palms
And I,
I never was a believer.

You said it’s a miracle
You ever made it this far.
You look to me for some salvation
When really, you just want me to
Nail you
Back up on there.

You say
Remember when we were angels
Remember when we had wings
Remember how we used to be
And the songs I would sing

But I’ve never been a believer
In anything
But you.
But I don’t see the blood in your hands
And I don’t think there’s a master plan

At least, not anymore.

I don’t remember us being angels
But I remember your face
And how you looked when you told me
I pulled you from grace.

I think it is a miracle,
We even made it this far.

You liked to lay on your back
When you had a panic attack
And maybe I saw a scar.
When you turned over
From where your wings were.

Maybe.

But we only exist now in old notebooks
And that space in-between dreams
Where we are no older
And nothing is what it seems.

And I am sorry
For that night
Where I caught you
With a hammer,
With your palm spread
And a nail half through

Oh you should said something
I would have believed
You should have said anything
We could have grieved together
Forever.

Sometimes I do think
That we may have been angels.
And then I see your face
In some crowded room
And I realise
I was never one of them.

I think you wished I was,
I think I wished I was.

And you can count on me to nail
You back up.
If you promise to take me with you.

You remember us as angels
I remember us as sinners
On the seventh day.
For at least seven years
I sinned,
And if I dragged you down,
Well.
To hell with it.

I think of you whenever I sleep
And it is nice to think that
Maybe once,
We could’ve been angels.

Leave a comment